Need a nice wine at the last minute? Here you go!

Too many times I’ve been at the store and realized that I have no wine to pair with what I just put in my basket. At the market the other day, I found myself in this predicament. Beautiful rib eyes, tasty prawns and a nice lemon for appetizers, Yukon gold potatoes, and plenty of salad all ready to go but what to drink with it. Sure, I could dip into the cellar but not wanting to do that I headed over the wine aisle to see if there was a white for the shrimp and a red for the steaks that wouldn’t break the bank. What I found were two terrific wines that were perfect for dinner or if you find yourself invited over to a friend’s house that will show very well indeed.

Terra Valentine 2008 Spring Mount Cabernet Sauvignon

terravalspringcab

DdV: 93
Price: $35.00
Blend: Cabernet, Merlot, and Cabernet Franc
Source: Spring Mountain

I found this at the local Safeway of all places when looking for a reasonably price Cab to pair with the rib eye steaks I already had in my basket. As our readers know, we’re huge mountain wine fans and Terra Valentine’s single vineyard Cabs have been a favorite for many years. This was our first try of this Spring Mountain effort and will not be our last. Exceptional wine for any price but under $40 it is at the top of the mid priced gems. Dark mountain blackberry and dark cherry with hints of graphite and spice on the nose give way to rich dark berry, cherry and chocolate on the mid. Finish is perfectly balanced and long. This is wonderful now in 2013 but does have some aging promise as well. A perfect companion for grilled rib eyes or New York steaks. Decant to really open it up.

La Crema 2011 Sonoma Coast Chardonnay

lacremachard11

DdV: 91
Price: $16.00
Blend: 100% Chardonnay
Source: Sonoma Coast

La Crema’s Russian River Chard offerings have been a favorite for many years but this was our first look at their Sonoma Coast wines. This is a fantastic Chard for the price having many of the properties found in wines twice the price. List is over $20 but I’ve found it at the market for far less. On the nose rich citrus, honey, and tropical fruit. On the mid, more fresh citrus, pineapple, and hints of orange. Finishes with a nice pop of minerality and hints of spice. Lush mouth feel and beautiful color with a fine balance. A new favorite. Very highly recommended!

